Archive for the ‘bunheadventures’ Category:

ballet competitions with xan – 2016 edition

YAGP

do you have any idea how happy i am now that ballet competition season is over? VERY HAPPY. although there’s more later in the summer, i can (almost) relax for a few weeks. this year, i went to three of the youth america grand prix (YAGP) semi-finals locations. normally people only attend one location, but i thought it’d be a good idea to go as a performance experience instead of a serious competition; as a student, i hardly get any chances to perform (we only have one show annually) and i spend the rest of my days training. so, i try to go out and perform whenever i get the chance. but this post isn’t about the dancing; it’s what i did BESIDES dancing.

las vegas, NV

the first location i went to was las vegas, NV. there wasn’t much going on and i didn’t take any pictures either. it was actually just dancing dancing dancing. i was really nervous because this was the first competition of the year, and i personally didn’t feel like my solos were ready. nothing interesting happened in terms of everything-except-dancing. at least the video of my performance is out! you can watch it here:

(more…)

WELCOME TO BALLET CLASS // blog tour: up to this pointe

blog tour: up to this pointe

WELCOME TO BALLET CLASS // blog tour: up to this pointeUp to This Pointe by Jennifer Longo
Published by Random House Books for Young Readers on January 19th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 368
Source: NetGalley
Amazon // The Book Depository
Goodreads

A refreshingly original contemporary YA, unlike anything readers have seen before. Perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson, John Corey Whaley, and Libba Bray.

She had a plan. It went south.

Harper is a dancer. She and her best friend, Kate, have one goal: becoming professional ballerinas. And Harper won’t let anything—or anyone—get in the way of The Plan, not even the boy she and Kate are both drawn to.

Harper is a Scott. She’s related to Robert Falcon Scott, the explorer who died racing to the South Pole. So when Harper’s life takes an unexpected turn, she finagles (read: lies) her way to the icy dark of McMurdo Station . . . in Antarctica. Extreme, but somehow fitting—apparently she has always been in the dark, dancing on ice this whole time. And no one warned her. Not her family, not her best friend, not even the boy who has somehow found a way into her heart.

i’m happy to be a part of UP TO THIS POINTE’s blog tour! thank you, random house, for providing me an eARC to read as well.

i adore ballet books – or even books that aren’t focused on ballet but have it briefly mentioned. books and ballet are two of my favorite things in life, so having them merge together as one is happiness. i love the paragraphs describing dance because to me, it’s something that one can’t reaaaaaally describe with words; you need to watch it – experience it – to fully comprehend. but somehow, these authors manage to capture the feeling and depiction of dancing, and every time i read it i smile and have the urge to turn on some tchaikovsky and do some pirouettes.

after some thinking, i decided to try to write about ballet and explain it. (i mean, jennifer longo did it – wonderfully, might i add – so i suppose i could try talking about ballet as well) 80% of ballet is done in class, but most people don’t understand why i need to go to class every day when i already know all the steps. ballet class is different from regular class; not only are you learning new steps and combinations, you’re perfecting them. so here’s me, walking you through what a typical ballet class would consist of. like the art form itself, ballet classes are very structured.

(more…)

bunheadventures: snow white 2015

bunheadventures - sw15

every year, during the weekend before thanksgiving, my ballet studio has their annual performance. the production is always different and this time we did SNOW WHITE & THE SEVEN DWARFS. (which i thought was perfect since i just finished WINTER and i could channel in all the inner snow white feels) i would’ve uploaded these pictures sooner, but i was recovering from the exhaustion that is PERFORMANCE.

i love performance season. i thrive for the cool days rehearsing indoors; i live for the feeling of standing in the curtains before stepping in the stage lights. if i’m being completely honest with you, i don’t looooove ballet. i love the feeling of going on stage and performing; i just chose ballet as my outlet to do so. i’m usually equally excited and nervous for the show, but this year i wasn’t nervous at all. it was weird. i think i didn’t realize we were performing until it actually happened. and when i stepped in front of the audience, i was – for the first time – telling a story instead of worrying about my swollen ankle (yeah, there was that) or messing up that pirouette. i guess, for the first time, i was reaaally performing. and it made me really happy and relieved and sad at the same time. but most importantly, it made me want to dance more. i guess that’ll be my motivation when i spend the endless hours in the studios.



(more…)

bunheadventures: showstopper anaheim ii competition

bunheadventures ss header

this post is looong overdue. but i wanted to do a recap and share what it’s like going to competition so who cares if it happened, like two weeks ago? showstopper is always fun because everyone wins. literally, everyone who goes on stage gets a trophy.

(more…)